receives \$9,102 plus an office allowance of \$17,500 per annum, the speaker \$6,535 and the deputy speaker \$3,925.

Each member of the legislature is paid an annual indemnity of \$7,840, an expense allowance of \$7,000 and a sessional allowance of \$3,270. Each of the members for the two northernmost constituencies of Athabasca and Cumberland receives an \$8,840 annual indemnity and a \$7,250 expense allowance. Government and opposition whips are paid an annual allowance of \$1,310 each and legislative secretaries an annual allowance of \$3,000 each. The third party whip is paid an annual allowance of \$708.

The Executive Council of Saskatchewan in November 1977

Premier and President of the Executive

- Council, Hon. A.E. Blakeney
- Attorney General, Hon. R.J. Romanow
- Minister of Mineral Resources, Hon. J.R. Messer
- Minister of Finance, Hon. W.E. Smishek
- Minister of Labour, Hon. G.T. Snyder Minister of Northern Saskatchewan, Hon. G.R.

Bowerman

- Minister of the Environment and Minister of Telephones, Hon. N.E. Byers
- Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. G. MacMurchy
- Minister of Highways and Transportation, Hon. E. Kramer

Provincial Secretary, Hon. E. Cowley

Minister of Health, Hon. E. Tchorzewski Minister of Revenue, and Minister of Cooperation and Co-operative Development, Hon. W.A. Robbins

Minister of Consumer Affairs, Hon. E.C. Whelan

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. E.E. Kaeding

Minister of Tourism and Renewable Resources, Hon. A. Matsalla

Minister of Social Services, Hon. H.H. Rolfes Minister of Culture and Youth and Minister of Government Services, Hon. E.B. Shillington

- Minister of Education and Minister of Continuing Education, Hon. D.L. Faris
- Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. N. Vickar.

Alberta

In addition to the lieutenant-governor (since April 1974 the Honourable Ralph Steinhauer) the government of Alberta is composed of an executive council and a Legislative Assembly of 75 members elected for a maximum of five years. On March 26, 1975, 69 Progressive Conservatives, four members of the Social Credit party, one of the New Democratic Party and one Independent-Social Credit member were elected to form the 18th Legislature.

Each member of the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$12,469, a \$6,234 expense allowance and an amount not to exceed \$40 for each day during the session when the member is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence. In addition to the indemnity and expense allowance, the speaker receives a salary of \$18,500 and the deputy speaker \$6,735. The salary of the leader of the opposition, in addition to the indemnity and expense allowance, is \$30,483. The speaker, deputy speaker and leader of the opposition also receive an amount not to exceed \$40 for each day during the session when they are necessarily absent from their ordinary place of residence. In addition to the sessional indemnity and allowance the premier receives \$37,410, other ministers \$30,483 and ministers without portfolio \$22,169. These figures have been in effect since April 1, 1978.

The Executive Council of Alberta in November 1977

Premier and President of the Executive	Minister of Advanced Education and
Council, Hon. Peter Lougheed	Manpower, Hon. Bert Hohol
Deputy Premier and Minister of Transportation, Hon. Hugh M. Horner	Minister of Housing and Public Works, Hon. William J. Yurko
Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, Hon, Donald R. Getty	Minister of Environment, Hon. David J. Russell
Minister of Federal and Intergovernmental	Attorney General, Hon. James L. Foster
Affairs and Government House Leader, Hon. Louis D. Hyndman	Solicitor General, Hon. Roy A. Farran Minister of Utilities and Telephones, Hon.
Minister of Hospitals and Medical Care, Hon. Gordon T.W. Miniely	Allan A. Warrack Minister of Government Services, also
Provincial Treasurer, Hon. C. Mervin Leitch	responsible for Culture, Hon. Horst A.
Minister of Labour, Hon. Neil S. Crawford	Schmid

3.3.1.9